News Catch-up 18 September 2020

Author: Alex White  Date Posted:18 September 2020 

News Catch-up 18 September 2020

Greetings everyone. What an intense month it has been so far. Hope you’ve all gotten ahold of the RSD releases you were after. While we are safe in the calm before Drop 2, let’s take a look at some upcoming releases that I’m sure will be gracing your wishlists for the next few months.

October 9th 2020 would have been John Lennon’s 80th birthday. And to celebrate, we are being gifted the awesome Gimme Some Truth, a new greatest hits compilation of John Lennon’s solo career. Three versions will be available upon release; a 2 LP edition with 19 tracks, a 20-page booklet, a fold-out poster, and a ‘GIMME SOME TRUTH’ bumper sticker; a 4 LP edition with 36 tracks, booklet, poster, post cards and bumper sticker; and a 2 CD & Blu-Ray edition with 36 tracks and a 124-page book. The Blu-Ray will also contain hi-res stereo 96/24 PCM mixes of the songs, as well as a 5.1 and Dolby Atmos mixes. All of the versions will contain brand new mixes of the songs from the original master tapes, so whichever edition you decide on, you are bound to hear something new with these well-known and much-loved classic songs. Happy birthday, John. We can’t wait to hear Gimme Some Truth.

Pre-order the 2 LP set here, the 4 LP set here, or the CD/Blu-Ray set here.

Another compilation from a loved and lost musical legend is due in October: Hit Me! The Best of Ian Dury. This 2 LP set includes songs from his entire career, including tracks from Kilburn & The High Roads, as well as The Blockheads. Mastering his performance during the post-punk/new wave era of music, Dury released the classic tracks Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt 3, Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick and Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll – all of which are included in this collection. Rare photographs and liner notes by writer and friend of the late Dury, Phill Jupitus are also included. Hit Me! The Best of Ian Dury is available to pre-order here.

Also arriving in October is the latest release from virtual band Gorillaz. Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez. Essentially a compilation of the ongoing collaborative ‘episodes’ that Gorillaz have been releasing since the start of the year. Among their collaborators are Beck, Elton John, Robert Smith, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, and many more. Song Machine: Season One will be released on an indie exclusive neon orange vinyl and is available to pre-order here.

A deluxe version containing 2 LPs, a CD, as well as a digital download and a 20-page hardcover art book is available to pre-order here.

Arriving in November is the latest album by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. Idiot Prayer: Alone At Alexandra Palace is the soundtrack to a live performance filmed during Covid lockdown in June of this year. During the performance, Nick Cave plays songs from his entire career, however all are stripped back, using only the piano. As Cave himself said during the promotion of the album, “the world went into lockdown, and fell into an eerie, self-reflective silence.” And indeed, the end result of Idiot Prayer is a very introspective – if not quite beautiful – listen. It is a fascinating thing considering the beginning of the year was filled with uncertainty about where this lockdown would take us, and now towards the end of it, we are seeing the results of what our artists have been creating throughout it all. But enough of my asides, get excited about the new Nick Cave album and pre-order it here.

So many more cool releases are almost upon us, including the latest Bob Dylan MFSL, a new Bruce Springsteen, Motorhead Ace Of Spades 40th, and a new Tim Minchin. Click on the links embedded in the text to find out more, but we promise we’ll be back next week to give you more details about them all (and possibly even more that will be announced between now and then!). Until then, take care of yourselves music lovers.

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up